Really Facebook…Really?

Facebook with thumbs downOh Facebook you silly megalomaniacal conglomeration you. You’ve gone and stepped in it yet again. There was a tragic accident in the Lower Mainland of British Columbia Canada recently that involved a young man who may, or may not have taken his own life by stepping in front of an oncoming train. Granted there are many that will be asking “How can you get hit by a train without actually moving into its path with a purpose in mind?” or “This is Darwinism at work” etc etc etc.

I personally can’t see how thing like this can happen either? Even if you have headphones on you should at least have the sense to look up when you see train tracks ahead of you… but this is not the point here today. Today is about the new suggestions that Facebook implements upon its users. More specifically a certain recommendation they suggested after an article was shared by a friend that appeared on my news feed. The article in question had the headline “Pedestrian hit and killed by train in Chilliwack”  and that garnered this eloquent suggestion by Facebook as a companion must read! A video from a bit done by Larry the Cable Guy entitled “How to avoid being hit by a train” Really Facebook

A tad callous wouldn’t you think? I know this is more than likely a drone like automaton software program that makes these kinds of connections but come on Facebook! Really? What if the parents, family members and or friends read that? How would that make them feel? Like their son, husband, brother or friends death was a joke I would think. At least that’s what I would be feeling if I read that. It shows to me how much society has desensitized itself against the tragedies and horrors that take place all around us every single day we exist.

I don’t think it’s going to get any better because let’s face it, it’s easier to bitch and complain anonymously, in the shadows. But when the spotlight shines on you to speak out against something you’re more likely to turn away, pretending that it was the guy next to you who spoke. We are turning into a society of cowards and pass the buck onto the next guy people. We feel that we can’t do anything because the issue or atrocity is to big for one person to go at it alone. Nothing would be done with a single voice…right? What we don’t realize is that everything is confronted in the beginning by just one person letting the world know that they won’t put up with it. They will stand and fight the machine and never give up. That voice will lend itself to others and so on and so on. Until the world will speak as one and things will change. But it takes that one voice in the crowd, that one small seemingly insignificant spark flickering in the din of it all…to ignite a flame.

This is only my opinion, my spark in the dark so to speak, and I don’t believe I am alone in it. I would love to hear your opinions on this and create a discussion.

So please leave me a reply and lets see what we can come up with here, maybe nothing but maybe something? 

Stay safe, stay warm and be kind to one another.

About Kevin Powley

Creating chaos is the name of the game! Okay, maybe there is a little more to it than just chaos, like I'm a transplanted Canadian living in Wisconsin. Why the Cheesehead capital of the world you may ask? Okay, so you didn't but I'm going to tell you regardless. Love! Plain and simple, I'm here for love. What am I into? Well back in 2003... ish I bought my first guitar, now I own 7. I turned a spare bedroom into a little recording studio where I write and record my own music. Unfortunately I cannot read music. (Maybe a little to ADD to sit for lessons I guess?) But I love it, even though I don't set aside enough time to play much anymore. I'm a Gamer, an avid reader and I love to write. Every chance I get I take in the newest movie on the big screen. The bigger the blockbuster the bigger the screen to watch it upon! Currently I am enrolled in school and taking some courses to get a degree in nursing. I'm changing the path of my life once again, even though I am in my mid forties. Never to old to try something new I say! I live here in beautiful Wisconsin right smack dab in between Chicago and Milwaukee. Where we get to experience both worlds equally. I have been married to my gorgeous wife Susi for the past 12 years and have a furry family taking up my attention. My old Husky/Shepherd Buddy and our three cats Fletcher, Taiko and Felix. Who needs kids when you have all these guys to keep you busy? And busy they do keep us! :)
This entry was posted in In The News, Rants and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Really Facebook…Really?

  1. Mark Blaney says:

    Wonderful job of asking us to open our hearts to how closed and insensitive we’ve become.

    • Kevin Powley says:

      Thank you Mark, that’s a nice thing to say. I really do feel that we have closed ourselves off to the feelings of others. We seem to be focused on ourselves so much that we forget there are people around us who suffer as we do and some way more than we can ever imagine. We need to somehow figure out a way to collectively open our hearts to one another. In my opinion it sure would make this a better world to live in. I know it’s all great in theory, but why does it have to be only theory? We keep it small because we choose to, but what if we chose to make it bigger than ourselves? What then? I’m sure we can’t get any worse if we tried it, but I am damn sure we WILL if we don’t!
      Thanks again for your response Mark.
      Cheers!

Leave a Reply

