The Not So Super, Superbowl.

Superbowl 2014Whether you had a stake in the game or not I’m sure a great deal of you were glued to the big ol telly yesterday to cheer on your team of the moment! So? What did you think? I was attending a friends Superbowl party even though football is not on my top ten list of things to watch. Don’t get me wrong, I like the game itself, but I’m just not a fan of sports on TV. Plus I think that their salaries are so damn exorbitant that I find it hard to justify giving them my time when there are people starving on the streets of the United States of America! But I digress! Before my wife and I went to the party we talked about who we should be cheering for? So we took a few things into consideration when making our choice. We chose the Seahawks to back on this particular day. The reasons were: 1) My wife is a Badger Alum like Russell Wilson and thought he was truly a nice guy. 2) The Seahawks were the obvious underdogs going into this, so that is always a reason (in our books) to be another mark for them. 3) I am originally from the Fraser Valley in British Columbia Canada and had grown up with the Seahawks essentially in my back yard. So it was unanimously decided that the Seahawks were our guys!!! GO HAWKS!!! Oh wait sorry, still in cheer mode!

We arrived at the party well before kick off and enjoyed some awesome appy’s and some tasty vittles and libations before settling onto the couch to cheer on our team. We found out (quickly) that the ENTIRE party was devoid of Seahawks backers. A whole party full of revelers rooting solely for Denver! “Hmmmm?”, we thought. “Should we rethink our decision?” we asked each other in hushed tones. See, our patron was a police officer and we knew there were guns about and discovered an office/shrine to the Denver Broncos upstairs, painted with the Bronco logo and colors! We were indeed in hostile territory. After a few back and forth moments discussing whether we would survive going up against this formidable horde, we chose to stand our ground and stand by our original decision. They were as I stated “The Underdogs” and now my wife and I had even more in common with our team, so we were gonna cheer for them even if it meant risking life and limb!

Mannings face at first snapIn the first 12 seconds of the game we knew we were on to something! That first snap of the game cleared poor Manning by a good 2 feet! The look on the poor QB’s face said it all! “WTF!!!!” and it all seemed to go downhill from there! At every touchdown I would bellow loud and proud into the swell of hostility “GOOOO HAAAAWKS!!!! and heard the jeers coming from various rooms about the house. It was fun to mock the avid Bronco fans and we felt fairly sure we could live through this, so we sat back and enjoyed the trouncing the Hawks placed upon the poor Bronco’s…until…the gap widened…and widened to a gaping chasm. I began to feel a little pity for them. It didn’t hold the same satisfaction anymore as the Bronco’s esteem got lower and lower. They managed to get a few points on the board, at least that kept them from being completely skunked. But it was sad to watch what appeared to be a frantic Peyton Manning throw ball after ball and seem to get nowhere.

I had a theory as to what was happening to the Bronco’s. Now mind you I am not an avid watcher of football so don’t jump down my throat telling me I know nothing, I already know that. 🙂 It appeared to me that on several plays the Seahawks would “allow” the Bronco’s receivers to be open for Manning to throw to and when they took the bait, the Hawks defense was already in gear to close ranks and squash the play. This happened time and time again and appeared to be extremely effective. They would crowd Manning, forcing him to make a hasty play as he was being bum-rushed. He would see an open orange jersey in a sea of blue and throw the ball to avoid getting sacked, fumbled or having the play turn over. Only in the next second to watch as Seahawks swarmed his receiver like they had some sort of Spidey sense. The Bronco’s just couldn’t bring it to fruition and keep it together as the powerhouse team that I had heard they were. I stopped my jeering and gloating to allow the poor Bronco fans to lick their wounds in peace. Plus, I got a few threats when I burst into another viewing room to taunt them with a hardy “Denver…ZEROOOO!!!!” They were not amused!

Another thing that brought about our desire to watch the Superbowl was the commercials. To which I found slightly disappointing. There were a couple of standouts like anything to do with Steven Colbert has to rock – so his Pistachio bit was awesome! They leaned a lot on the warm and fuzzy aspect this year. The Budweiser horse and puppy were so darn cute – who wouldn’t want to go out and buy some beer? I mean I’m not a beer drinker and even I wanted some good old-fashioned brew! It was good to see the Seinfeld reunion. Not as funny as it could have been but hey, they are getting up there. *snickers to himself! The Radio Shack spot rocked with a blast from the 80’s! I had fond memories of all those old characters! Bud light did an interesting thing with having a man filmed (unbeknownst to him) and putting him in different situations was really unique and humorous! Who doesn’t like Arnold Schwarzenegger in a wig playing ping-pong? And not to be outdone, Mr Lawrence Fishbourne re-igniting the Matrix with the return of Morpheous…as an operatic valet!!! Good stuff there! Unfortunately though, I feel the remainder of the commercials fell flat –  at $4,000,000 a spot couldn’t they have come up with something more spectacular? I guess if you pay that much for one single 30 second commercial then you have to cut corners somewhere.

Commercial Mashup

The highlight of the game was the half-time show. The mash-up of Bruno Mars and the Red Hot Chili Peppers? I rather enjoyed it. Bruno Mars, glad to see the pompadour back my friend! The scruffy puffy hairdo you have been sporting as of late just wasn’t cutting it for me. That man can sing! Which is nice for a change to not have a performer lip sync their way through a performance and be a genuine artist. Mars seems to be a class act and him getting down with his funky self all up and down the stage, as he channeled his inner James Brown was mesmerizing! And who doesn’t like the Chili Peppers? They always put on a good show, how can you not love Flea and Kiedis bouncing around all maniacal like as they do a duet with Bruno and company, an odd mix of flavors but all in all I think it worked. The half time show was a great piece of entertainment in my opinion. Much better than some of the past list of half time performers.

Mars & Keidis

All in all I thought this years Superbowl was truly ‘just okay’. Nothing special stood out to pronounce to the world “Look at me! And never forget this moment!” The ballgame itself was good but turned into a total domination of the other team. Which doesn’t lend for good entertainment. If I wanted to see an utter beating take place I would have turned to watch a UFC bout. But in football, the fun and true excitement comes when both teams are giving it their all and the score is so close you’re not sure if your going to have a heart attack waiting for the next great play to unfold. But it just wasn’t there on this chilly Sunday in New Jersey. Oh well there is always next year now isn’t there?

At least we had great food and even better company while we were spectacularly underwhelmed.

Stay safe, stay warm, and be kind to each other.

About Kevin Powley

Creating chaos is the name of the game! Okay, maybe there is a little more to it than just chaos, like I'm a transplanted Canadian living in Wisconsin. Why the Cheesehead capital of the world you may ask? Okay, so you didn't but I'm going to tell you regardless. Love! Plain and simple, I'm here for love. What am I into? Well back in 2003... ish I bought my first guitar, now I own 7. I turned a spare bedroom into a little recording studio where I write and record my own music. Unfortunately I cannot read music. (Maybe a little to ADD to sit for lessons I guess?) But I love it, even though I don't set aside enough time to play much anymore. I'm a Gamer, an avid reader and I love to write. Every chance I get I take in the newest movie on the big screen. The bigger the blockbuster the bigger the screen to watch it upon! Currently I am enrolled in school and taking some courses to get a degree in nursing. I'm changing the path of my life once again, even though I am in my mid forties. Never to old to try something new I say! I live here in beautiful Wisconsin right smack dab in between Chicago and Milwaukee. Where we get to experience both worlds equally. I have been married to my gorgeous wife Susi for the past 12 years and have a furry family taking up my attention. My old Husky/Shepherd Buddy and our three cats Fletcher, Taiko and Felix. Who needs kids when you have all these guys to keep you busy? And busy they do keep us! :)
This entry was posted in Current Events, Entertainment, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

